Haakon's bike blog

Canadian hospitality!

Less than a week has passed but it feels a lot longer. New experiences abound giving the impression that time can be stretched. Arriving at Vancouver gave me some stress: has my bike arrived safely, without any serious damage? And can I put it back together again? I troubled my head about how I should put my front wheel back in place but after 2 hours in the lobby of the airport, I was able to ride out safely.

No exclamation mark yet:-) as this trip was only going from the airport to the hostel downtown, about 25 km. I spent the next two days walking around town, visiting the anthropology museum at UBC (university of BC), strolling along Kitsilano and - last but not least - going to Canada's outdoor shop, the MEC. I still needed a small stove, fuel bottle, water purification tablets, a 10 lt water pouch, gloves, a hat and a pair of long cycling/running trousers. Mission completed. On top of that a lovely Swiss couple with the appropriate names Simon and Simone offered me their unused pepper spray and food leftovers (they had just finished a five week loop around the Rockies). Ready to go!

The thrill came the next day. After having my picture taken in front of the hostel, I took off with nice sunny weather heading for the ferry to Vancouver Island at Horseshoe Bay. The thrill, however, was short lived. First, an anxiety wave came over me when I realized I was going on this trip with lots of uncertainties and leaving behind the safety and security of home. To top it off I left Margit behind, and her absence made me feel lonely and sad. After crossing Lion's gate bridge, the initial mix of emotions was replaced by concerns of more practical nature: these so called hills are kiling! Granted, it was my first day on the bike with about 30 kg of luggage, but this was nothing like cycling in Holland. Together with the fact that I have a weak right knee, I realized I probably have to reconsider my initial planning of cycling 80 km a day. A new situation calls for a new strategy! And the new strategy has to be less is more, allowing more time to enjoy both the people and nature along the way. On the ferry to Vancouver Island I bump into a friendly lady who has cycled most of Canada and the States. As we talk about cycling, cycling equipment and Canada, she invites me to stay over at her house at Gabriola Island, off Vancouver Island. I react somewhat reserved at first, until I realize this is exactly what less is more is about! So I join her to her home (after yet another steep hill coming from the ferry!), where I have my own room and toilet: sheer luxury! And the location in the middle of the woods is stunning. I end up staying one full day, at which we first go to yoga class, visit Saturday's farmer's market, tour around the island looking for petroglyphs and popping in a friend's house. These friends work as local craftsmen, being a metal worker (him) and a glass blower (her). They make a pretty good representation of the island's population, since it consists for a large part of artists and musicians. At night I am lucky to find myself at the yearly Salmon Barbecue, both a social and fundraising event for the community building. Some of the young children performing are extraordinary.. The next day I set off for Tofino, saying goodbye to Carol and thanking her for her great care. That night is my first camping-in-the-wild night! I was given an address of a Dutch owned camping by some nice people at the Coombs' fair (Rob, Suzie and Janet) but the Dutch lady waived me firmly away. Camping was great, and my first chance to hang all my food up a tree, great fun! But bears might not be my biggest worry. As a biologist at the Gabriola ferry told me, bears are after your food, whereas cougars are after you! (that phrase kind of impressed me). So I hold my blatter until the morning..She also told me that Vancouver Island holds one of the biggest cougar populations in the world, that grizzlies only populate the northern part of the island and that black bears are good climbers for they have actual thumbs (as opposed to grizzlies). I am on the road again, heading for Tofino, a place on the island's coast I visited 8 years ago. I am taking my time, probably averaging about 50 km a day, and enjoying what happens to cross my path. I am posting this story without pictures, they will follow shortly. I am still trying to find out how I can resize/shrink multiple pics at the same time (for a samsung tab). Suggestions are welcome:-) I am using Quickpic now, although they claim that multiple resizing is possible, I have not found it yet. Till next time! And very cool to read all your replies!

Reacties

Reacties

Carmen

Wow! escribes super chevere! he mordido el anzuelo y no parare de leer el diario de tu viaje. Suerte en todo!
abrazo

Koen

Wat leuk dat je kon logeren bij die vrouw. Way to go Hokie. Langzaam fietsen! Groet uit Maputo.

Ton

Very good, Hokey!! no worries and no hurries!!
Enjoy!

Cheers!

Marjolein

That's the spirit; to be informed by local people. A very promising first week!!!

Nienke

Zet 'm op!!! En hou de pepper spray paraat voor de beren en cougars, he! Spuiten en rennen. Of is dat niet de beste strategie?! grtz!

Dies

Leuk bericht Hoogie, leuk geschreven ook. Krijg het idee het bijna zelf mee te maken. Have fun, Dies'l

Maud

wow. Klinkt gweldig, geniet er van !

Anouschka

Klinkt top! Volgens mij zijn juist die sociale ervaringen die je op doet extra leuk, dus idd less is more:)

Kees

Goed bezig, rustig opbouwen dan wordt je sterker tijdens de tocht. Hou je taai en have fun!

Laura

Wat kan je in een week al veel meemaken! Geniet ervan en wij blijven je graag volgen (zolang je niet opgegeten bent...). F. loopt sinds deze week, nog even en ze fietst zo een stukje met je mee!
Liefs uit Arnhem, Rob Laura (en Fenna)

Hassan

Heel leuk , ik blijf je volgen en wens je een . ik wens je een prettige reis toe .

Thirza

Wow, een week onderweg en al zoveel mooie mensen tegen gekomen en dingen meegemaakt! Fantastisch beschreven ook! Ik heb de foto's (bijna) niet nodig! ;-) Keep up the good work!

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!